saying goodbye

We had to say goodbye to this sweet, old soul yesterday.

IMG_0385.JPG

After gradually moving more and more slowly and with increasing pain over the last few months, his back legs finally gave out completely.

Thunder and Trent grew up together. He slept at the foot of Trent’s bed every night until Trent left for college. He anxiously awaited every visit home, and joyfully greeted us every time we returned. Thunder lovingly accepted me when I entered the picture. He had no problem moving from the foot of Trent’s bed to the smack-dab middle of ours. He’s been my constant companion since I married Trent, shadowing me throughout the house, snuggling my belly before I knew a baby was growing inside, and eventually laying by the side of her crib, distraught at her newborn cries. He has the kindest, gentlest soul, and we are grateful he’s running free.

We miss you, sweet boy.

Leave a Reply

