when sadness is really deep

I read about a friend of a friend’s three-year-old little girl named Magnolia.

She just got diagnosed with inoperable brain cancer.

It makes me so angry and so, so sad for them.

I haven’t slept well the last few nights.

I’ve beat myself up about time I haven’t spent with Ailey, telling myself I should have. We only get so much time.

I don’t get it.

Sometimes there’s just so much pain. I know the words–platitudes we overuse to get through it. But when it really comes down to it, how to we just keep going? How do we trust God in the midst of such things? How is this family going to get past losing their little one?

I know all of the answers on paper, but sometimes those feel empty.

I know God isn’t empty.

in this world, you will have trouble. take heart!I have overcome the world

Maybe they just live and breathe these words over and over? Take heart, take heart, take heart.

Maybe we just give thanks for the time we get and relish in what these little, beautiful moments add up to.

And remember that the world has already been overcome by our redeemer-God. And that heaven is like a little, beautiful moment that stretches past forever.

One thought on “when sadness is really deep

Leave a Reply

