Mothering, So Far

Ailey one week

Here’s the thing about being a mother for just over a week now.  I really know nothing.  Compared with many of the mothers I know, my experience thus far is very insignificant.  I can still count the number of sleepless nights that I’ve endured because now I’m responsible for another human.  I don’t know the pain of even having a sick child, let alone losing one too soon.  I don’t know what it’s like to wait up for a teenager who didn’t call when she should have.   I don’t know what it’s like to talk to my child after she’s been bullied for the first time.  I don’t know what it’s like to see her take her first steps yet. Basically, I have a lot to learn.

But I will say that in the short time that I’ve been a mother to this teensy human, I’ve already learned a lot.  I didn’t know it was possible to love someone I just met.  I’ve learned that there is very little that I know about the world and that it’s kind of a scary place to introduce a mini human.  I’ve learned that it’s exciting and wonderful and beautiful to watch someone so brand new begin to learn about the world.  Mostly, I’ve learned that I am fiercely proud of this tiny, feisty, beautiful little girl and I can’t wait to watch her grow.

Leave a Reply

